One of the founder animals of the beaver population at the river Hase.

Emsland Beavers

Zur deutschen Version Beaver biology

Development of the kits


<< Previous chapter Overall table of contents Next chapter >>


After a gestation period of 100 to 110 days (105 days in average) between the beginning of April and the middle of July 1 to 5 (max. 6 pubs) completely furred pubs with open eyes and ears are born (Grzimek & Piechocki 1968; Freye 1978; Piechocki 1989; Nowak 1999; Grimmberger & Rudloff 2009). After Heidecke (1984) the mean number of pubs born per female amounts to 2.93 in the Elbe beaver (C. fiber albicus). In the Eurasian form, the birth weight of young beaver varies between 300 and 700 g with a head-body length between 30 to 35 cm (Wilsson 1971; Djoshkin & Safonov 1972; Freye 1978; Piechocki 1989; Nowak 1999; Grimmberger & Rudloff 2009).

Beavers are categorised as precocial, whereas in the low ossification rate of the skeleton they rather resemble altricical young (Freye 1978). Young beavers are already able to swim by the age of 4 days (Baker & Hill 2003), however, they can not leave the burrow on their own because this can only be achieved by diving, which pubs at this age are not able to do (Freye 1978). Moreover the fur of the beaver pubs in their first 3 to 4 weeks of life is not water repellent like in adult animals (Baker & Hill 2003). Therefore, the pubs are leaving the burrow only after an age of 4 to 6 weeks (Freye 1978). According to other data, young beavers can only be seen outside of the burrow for the first time at an age of 2 month (Wilsson 1971). At least for North-American beavers it is assumed, that they are only able to dive and stay under water for a longer time at this certain age (Baker & Hill 2003).

Development of the body mass of beaver kits after Wilsson (1971), Djoshkin & Safonow (1972) and Freye (1978).
Development of the body mass of
beaver kits after Wilsson (1971),
Djoshkin & Safonow (1972) and
Freye (1978).
The pubs are being nursed for about 2 month (C. canadensis up to 3 month; Nowak 1999), whereas they already start to feed on plants, which are carried into the burrow by the parents, at an age of about 8 to 14 days (Freye 1978; Piechocki 1989). At a dry substance content of approximately 30%, the breast milk contains 16 to 21% fat and 11 to 12% protein (the values are similar for Eurasian and North-American beavers; Freye 1978). With a weight gain of 40 to 50 g per day, the pubs are growing considerably fast within the first 2 month of age (Djoshkin & Safonow 1972), weighing already between 1.7 and 1.8 kg (max. 3.0 kg) after 1 month, 2.9 to 3.1 kg (max. 5.0 kg) after 2 month, and 3.9 to 4.2 kg (max. 6 kg) after 3 month of age. At an age of 6 month the young beavers reach a body weight of 6 to 7 kg, after 1 year they are weighing approx. 9 to 10 kg and at an age of 2 years the body mass reaches about 16 kg (data of caged animals after Wilsson 1971 and Freye 1978).
Sexual maturity is reached at a body weight of about 17 - 18 kg at an age of 2.5 to 3 years, whereas this is also the time the subadults are no longer tolerated within the parental territory (Djoshkin & Safonow 1972; Freye 1978). At an age of about 4 years the animals are full-grown (Freye 1978), although even in adult beavers the body mass can be subject to pronounced fluctuations depending on environmental conditions and food provision (see above).

[Back to the top]

<< Previous chapter Overall table of contents Next chapter >>

Eines der Gründertiere der Biberpopulation an der Hase.

Die Emslandbiber

To the English version Biologie des Bibers

Jungtierentwicklung


<< Vorheriges Kapitel Gesamt-Inhaltsverzeichnis Nächstes Kapitel >>


Nach einer Tragzeit von 100 - 110 Tagen (im Schnitt 105 Tage) werden in der Zeit zwischen Anfang April bis etwa Mitte Juli zwischen 1 - 5 (maximal 6 Jungtiere) vollständig behaarte Jungtiere mit geöffneten Augen und Ohrmuscheln geboren (Grzimek & Piechocki 1968; Freye 1978; Piechocki 1989; Nowak 1999; Grimmberger & Rudloff 2009). Nach Heidecke (1984) beträgt die durchschnittliche Jungtieranzahl pro Weibchen beim Elbebiber (C. fiber albicus) 2,93 Jungtiere. Das Geburtsgewicht der Jungbiber schwankt bei den Eurasischen Formen zwischen 300 und 700 g bei einer Kopf-Rumpf-Länge von 30 bis 35 cm (Wilsson 1971; Djoshkin & Safonow 1972; Freye 1978; Piechocki 1989; Nowak 1999; Grimmberger & Rudloff 2009).

Biber werden als Nestflüchter eingestuft, wobei sie in der geringen Verknöcherung des Skeletts allerdings eher einem Nesthocker gleichen (Freye 1978). Zwar können Jungbiber bereits im Alter von etwa 4 Tagen schwimmen (Baker & Hill 2003) allerdings können sie zu Beginn den Bau noch nicht eigenständig verlassen, da dies nur tauchend möglich ist und die Jungtiere dazu noch nicht in der Lage sind (Freye 1978). Auch ist das Fell der jungen Biber in den ersten 3 - 4 Wochen noch nicht wasserabweisend, wie bei den Alttieren (Baker & Hill 2003). Die Jungtiere verlassen den Bau daher frühestens im Alter von 4 bis 6 Wochen (Freye 1978). Anderen Angaben zur Folge sind die jungen Biber sogar erst im Alter von 2 Monaten zum ersten Mal außerhalb des Wurfbaus anzutreffen (Wilsson 1971). Zumindest für Nordamerikanische Biber wird angenommen, dass diese auch erst ab diesem Alter tauchen und dabei längere Zeit unter Wasser bleiben können (Baker & Hill 2003).

Gewichtsentwicklung der Jungtiere nach Wilsson (1971), Djoshkin & Safonow (1972) und Freye (1978).
Gewichtsentwicklung der Jungtiere
nach Wilsson (1971), Djoshkin &
Safonow
(1972) und Freye (1978).
Gesäugt werden die Jungen etwa 2 Monate lang (C. canadensis bis zu 3 Monate; Nowak 1999), wobei sie aber bereits im Alter von etwa 8 - 14 Tagen Pflanzennahrung zu sich nehmen, die von den Elterntieren in den Bau eingetragen wird Freye 1978; Piechocki 1989). Die Muttermilch enthält bei einer Trockensubstanz von etwa 30 % einen Fettanteil von 16 - 21 % und einen Proteinanteil von 11 - 12 % (die Werte ähneln sich bei Eurasischen und Nordamerikanischen Bibern; Freye 1978). Die Jungtiere wachsen mit einer Gewichtszunahme von etwa 40 - 50 g pro Tag in den ersten 2 Monaten sehr schnell (Djoshkin & Safonow 1972) und wiegen nach einem Monat bereits zwischen 1,7 und 1,8 kg (max. 3,0 kg), nach 2 Monaten zwischen 2,9 - 3,1 kg (max. 5,0 kg) und nach 3 Monaten etwa zwischen 3,9 - 4,2 kg (max. 6.0 kg). In einem Alter von 6 Monaten wiegen die Jungbiber etwa 6 - 7 kg, nach einem Jahr ca. 9 - 10 kg und im Alter von 2 Jahren ungefähr 16 kg (Werte von Tieren in menschlicher Obhut nach Wilsson 1971 und Freye 1978).
Die Geschlechtsreife erreichen die Jungbiber mit einem Gewicht von etwa 17 - 18 kg in einem Alter von 2,5 bis 3 Jahren, wobei dies auch der Zeitpunkt ist, ab dem die Jungen nicht mehr länger im Revier der Eltern geduldet werden (Djoshkin & Safonow 1972; Freye 1978). Ausgewachsen sind die Tiere spätestens im 4 Lebensjahr (Freye 1978), wobei das Körpergewicht auch bei erwachsenen Bibern im Jahresverlauf - je nach Umweltbedingungen und Ernährungssituation - deutlichen Schwankungen unterworfen sein kann (s.o.).

[Zum Seitenanfang]

<< Vorheriges Kapitel Gesamt-Inhaltsverzeichnis Nächstes Kapitel >>